Q. I want to become an Apprentice, what do I need to do?
A: The first thing you need to do is find a approved program sponsor, Untouchable Apprentice Training is a state approved Barber and Cosmetology training program.
Q: Will it cost me anything to become an Apprentice?
A: The Board requires a $25.00 licensing fee to be paid for your apprentice license.Plus the Program sponsor fee of $3,999.00.
Q: Are there any other required fees?
A: Books and possible kit fee.The Board recommends that you investigate prospective Program Sponsors in order to be aware of all potential expenses before you enter the Apprenticeship Program.
Q: I don’t want to become a Barber, Electrologist or Cosmetology apprentice, but I do want to become a Manicurist or Esthetician apprentice. Is the Apprentice Program available for Manicurist or Esthetician?
A: No. At this time the apprentice program is for Barber and Cosmetology apprentices only. If you desire to become a Manicurist or an Esthetician, you will need to contact a School of Cosmetology for available courses.
Q: If I am presently attending a Board approved school of Barbering or Cosmetology and would like to become an apprentice, may I apply my school hours towards the hours required by the Apprentice Program?
A: No. Your clock-hours and operations accumulated in a Board approved school of Barbering or Cosmetology are non-transferable to the Apprentice Program.
Q: I have been told that I need identification but I don’t drive. What can I do?
A: All licensed individuals, including apprentices, must have a current, valid, government issued, photographic identification with them while they are working in an establishment. If you do not drive, you may receive California Identification from the California Department of Motor Vehicle. A list of acceptable identifications can be found in this handbook.
Q: Do I need a social security number to apply to be an apprentice.
Q: Will I be working on paying clients as an apprentice?
A.Yes. However, all work that you perform on clients must be done under the direct supervision of your trainer in the approved establishment listed on your license.
Q: Does the trainer that I choose need to have any special education prior to becoming a trainer?
A: No. Anyone who is currently licensed by the Board as a Barber or Cosmetologist may become a trainer. A trainer may be the owner or employee of a licensed establishment and must be in good standing with the Board. Your trainer must be licensed in your chosen course of study.
Q: What if my trainer becomes sick or takes a leave of absence?
A: The Board requires that each apprentice may only work under the direct supervision of their approved trainer.If your trainer must take a day or two off due to illness, etc., you may not continue to work without your trainer present. If your trainer must take an extended leave of absence, it may become necessary for you to transfer to another trainer.
Q: If I decide to quit the program or need to take a leave of absence, what can I do?
A: If you decide to leave the program permanently or for an extended period of time which would prevent you from completing the required curriculum (on-the-job training and related training) hours within the years that your license is valid, your program sponsor must complete a Verification of Training. This completed and signed verification must be submitted along with your apprentice license to the Board. Your earned on-the-job training hours and operations, related training, and pre-apprentice training are retained for three years should you decide to re-enroll.
Q: Do I need to be an apprentice for a full two years before I can take the licensing examination?
A: Under apprenticeship laws, with a twenty-four month apprentice program no apprentices will be completed earlier than twenty-one months pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 8, Regulation.